Saturday, February 28, 2009

Juventus F.C. - Club statistics and records

Alessandro Del Piero holds Juventus' official appearance record (560 as of 19 May 2008). He took over from Gaetano Scirea on 6 March 2008 against Palermo. Giampiero Boniperti holds the record for Lega Calcio Serie A appearances with 444.

Including all official competitions, Alessandro Del Piero is the all-time leading goalscorer for Juventus, with 241 goals -as of 19 May 2008- since joining the club in 1993. Giampiero Boniperti, who was the all-time topscorer since 1961 comes in second in all competitions with 182, but is still the top league goalscorer for the Old Lady as of June 2007.

In the 1933–34 season, Felice Placido Borel II° scored 31 goals in 34 appearances, setting the club record for Serie A goals in a single season. Ferenc Hirzer is the club's highest scorer in a single season with 35 goals in 26 appearances in the 1925–26 season (record of Italian football). The most goals scored by a player in a single match is 6, which is also an Italian record. This was achieved by Omar Enrique Sivori in a game against Inter in the 1960–61 season.

The first ever official game participated in by Juventus was in the Third Federal Football Championship, the predecessor of Serie A, against FBC Torinese; Juve lost 0–1. The biggest ever victory recorded by Juventus was 15–0 against Cento, in the second round of the Coppa Italia in the 1926–27 season. In terms of the league; ACF Fiorentina and US Fiumana were famously on the end of the Old Lady's biggest championship wins, both were beaten 11–0 and were recorded in the 1928–29 season. Juventus' heaviest championship defeats came during the 1911–12 and 1912–13 seasons; they were against Milan in 1912 (1–8) and Torino Calcio in 1913 (0–8).

The Old Lady holds the record for the most goals in a single season, in the top flight of Italian football, this includes national league, national cup and European competition, with a total of 106 goals in the 1992–93 season. The sale of Zinédine Zidane to Real Madrid of Spain from Juventus in 2001, set the current world football transfer record for the most expensive deal, costing the Spanish club around £46 million.

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Juventus F.C. - Honours

Historically, Juventus is Italy's most successful team, having won a total of 40 trophies, and one of the most prestigious football clubs in the world, having won a total of 11 official international trophies -with a record of 9 UEFA competition titles and 2 World-wide titles won-, making them the third most winning team in Europe and sixth in the world for official international club competitions won, all recognized by Union of European Football Association, one of the six continental football confederations, and International Federation of Association Football.

Juventus have won the Italian League Championship a record twenty-seven times. and have the record of consecutive triumphs in the football's premier club competition (5, since 1930–31 season to 1934–35 season). They have also won the Italian Cup nine times, holding the record number of wins -overall and consecutives- for the latter.

The Old Lady has earned the distinction of being allowed to wear a two Golden Stars for Sport Excellence (it. Stelle d'Oro al Merito Sportivo) on its shirt representing the league's victories of the bianconeri: the tenth, achieved during the 1957–58 season and the twentieth, in 1981–82 season. Also, Juventus is the only Italian team has achieved two times the national double (winning the Italian top tier division and the national cup competition in the same season), in 1959–60 and 1994–95 seasons.

Juventus, the only football club in the world to have won all official international cups and championships, has received, in recognition to win the three major European club competitions, as first case in the history of the European football, The UEFA Plaque by the Union of European Football Associations in 1987. They have won the UEFA Cup three times, which is a joint record they share with Liverpool and Internazionale.

The Torinese side was placed 7th -and first between all Italian clubs- in the FIFA Clubs of the 20th Century's selection on 23 December 2000.

Juventus has been proclaimed World's Club Team of the Year twice (1993 and 1996) and was ranked in the 3th place -and first between all Italian clubs- in the All-Time Club World Ranking (1991-2008 period) by the International Federation of Football History & Statistics.

Monday, February 23, 2009

Juventus F.C. - Managerial history

Below is a list of Juventus managers from 1923 when the Agnelli family took over and the club become more structured and organized, until the present day.

Name Nationality Years
Jenő Károly Flag of Hungary 1923–1926
József Viola Flag of Hungary 1926(int.)
József Viola Flag of Hungary 1926–1928
George Aitken Flag of Scotland 1928–1930
Carlo Carcano Flag of Italy 1930–1935
Carlo Bigatto Iº
Benedetto Gola
Flag of Italy
Flag of Italy
Virginio Rosetta Flag of Italy 1935–1939
Umberto Caligaris Flag of Italy 1939–1941
Federico Munerati Flag of Italy 1941(int.)
Giovanni Ferrari Flag of Italy 1941-1942
Luis Monti Flag of Argentina / Flag of Italy 1942(int.)
Felice Placido Borel IIº Flag of Italy 1942–1946
Renato Cesarini Flag of Italy 1946–1948
William Chalmers Flag of Scotland 1948–1949
Jesse Carver Flag of England 1949–1951
Luigi Bertolini Flag of Italy 1951(int.)
György Sárosi Flag of Hungary 1951–1953
Aldo Olivieri Flag of Italy 1953–1955
Sandro Puppo Flag of Italy 1955–1957
Ljubiša Broćić Flag of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia 1957–1959
Teobaldo Depetrini Flag of Italy 1959(int.)
Renato Cesarini Flag of Italy 1959–1961
Carlo Parola Flag of Italy 1961(int.)
Name Nationality Years
Gunnar Gren
Július Korostelev
Flag of Sweden
Flag of Czechoslovakia
Carlo Parola Flag of Italy 1961–1962
Paulo Lima Amaral Flag of Brazil 1962–1964
Eraldo Monzeglio Flag of Italy 1964(int.)
Heriberto Herrera Flag of Paraguay 1964–1969
Lùis Carniglia Flag of Argentina 1969–1970
Ercole Rabitti Flag of Italy 1970(int.)
Armando Picchi Flag of Italy 1970–1971
Čestmír Vycpálek Flag of the Czech Republic 1971–1974
Carlo Parola Flag of Italy 1974–1976
Giovanni Trapattoni Flag of Italy 1976–1986
Rino Marchesi Flag of Italy 1986–1988
Dino Zoff Flag of Italy 1988–1990
Luigi Maifredi Flag of Italy 1990–1991
Giovanni Trapattoni Flag of Italy 1991–1994
Marcello Lippi Flag of Italy 1994–1999
Carlo Ancelotti Flag of Italy 1999–2001
Marcello Lippi Flag of Italy 2001–2004
Fabio Capello Flag of Italy 2004–2006
Didier Deschamps Flag of France 2006–2007
Giancarlo Corradini Flag of Italy 2007(int.)
Claudio Ranieri Flag of Italy 2007–present

(int.) Managers on interim charge.
Nationality is indicated by the corresponding FIFA country code(s).

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Juventus F.C. - Presidential history

Juventus have had numerous presidents over the course of their history, some of which have been the owners of the club, others have been honorary presidents, here is a complete list of them:

Name Years
Eugenio Canfari 1897–1898
Enrico Canfari 1898–1901
Carlo Favale 1901–1902
Giacomo Parvopassu 1903–1904
Alfred Dick 1905–1906
Carlo Vittorio Varetti 1907–1910
Attilio Ubertalli 1911–1912
Giuseppe Hess 1913–1915
Gioacchino Armano
Fernando Nizza
Sandro Zambelli
Corrado Corradini 1919–1920
Gino Olivetti 1920–1923
Edoardo Agnelli 1923–1935
Name Years
Giovanni Mazzonis 1935–1936
Emilio de la Forest de Divonne 1936–1941
Pietro Dusio 1941–1947
Giovanni Agnelli (Honorary president) 1947–1954
Enrico Craveri
Nino Cravetto
Marcello Giustiniani
Umberto Agnelli 1955–1962
Vittore Catella 1962–1971
Giampiero Boniperti (Honorary president) 1971–1990
Vittorio Caissotti di Chiusano 1990–2003
Franzo Grande Stevens (Honorary president) 2003–2006
Giovanni Cobolli Gigli 2006–present

(cpg.)Presidential Committee of War.
(int.) Presidents on interim charge.

all about football Headline Animator

Custom Search