Saturday, February 14, 2009

Juventus F.C. - League dominance

Fiat owner Edoardo Agnelli gained control of the club in 1923, building a new stadium. This helped the club to their second league championship by the 1925–26 season beating Ala Roma with an aggregate score of 12–1, Antonio Vojak's goals were essential that season. The 1930s proved to be even more fruitful, the club won five consecutive league titles from 1930 through to 1935, most were under coach Carlo Carcano with star players such as Raimundo Orsi, Luigi Bertolini, Giovanni Ferrari and Luis Monti amongst others.

Juventus had a new ground in the form of the Stadio Comunale, though for the rest of the 1930s and the majority of the 1940s they were unable to recapture championship dominance. After the Second World War, Gianni Agnelli was put in place as honorary president. The club added two more scudetto championship's to their name in the 1949–50 and 1951–52 seasons, the latter of which was under the management of Englishman Jesse Carver.

Two new strikers were signed during 1957–58, in the form of Welshman John Charles and Italo-Argentine Omar Sivori, playing alongside longtime member Giampiero Boniperti. That season saw Juventus awarded with the Golden Star for Sport Excellence to wear on their shirt after becoming the first Italian side to win ten league titles. In the same season, Omar Sivori became the first ever player at the club to win the European Footballer of the Year. The following season they beat Fiorentina to complete their first league and cup double, winning Serie A and Coppa Italia. Boniperti retired in 1961, he retired as the all-time top scorer at the club, with 182 goals in all competitions; a club record which would last for 45 years.

For the rest of the decade the club won the league just once more in 1966–67, However, the 1970s would see Juventus further solidify their strong position in Italian football. Under former player Čestmír Vycpálek they won the scudetto in 1971–72 and 1972–73, with players such as Roberto Bettega, Franco Causio and José Altafini breaking through. During the rest of the decade they won the league two more times, with defender Gaetano Scirea contributing significantly. The latter of which was won under Giovanni Trapattoni, the man who would help the club's domination continue on in the early part of the 1980s.

No comments:

Post a Comment

all about football Headline Animator

Custom Search